• Encyclopedia Brown and the Case of the Slippery Salamander

    By Donald J. Sobol

    A brand new name within the bestselling sequence concerning the world's maximum supersleuth in sneakers!

    A slippery salamander, a banana burglar, a pass judgement on who is run away, and a presidential toothbrush . . . those are only the various clues that the world's maximum younger detective needs to use to unravel 10 all-new mysteries. younger readers can attempt to resolve the instances along Encyclopedia--the solutions to the entire mysteries are at the back of the booklet.

    Show description

  • Russian Roulette: The Story of an Assassin (Alex Rider)

    By Anthony Horowitz

    The ultimate ebook within the number 1 New York Times bestselling sequence that redefined the secret agent novel for younger readers—Alex Rider!

    Alex Rider’s existence replaced without end with the silent pull of a trigger.

    Every tale has a starting. For youngster undercover agent Alex Rider, that starting happened sooner than his first case for MI6, recognized through the code identify Stormbreaker. by the point Stormbreaker ceaselessly replaced Alex’s lifestyles, his uncle were murdered through the murderer Yassen Gregorovich, leaving Alex orphaned and yearning revenge. but whilst Yassen had a transparent shot to take out Alex after he foiled the Stormbreaker plot, he permit Alex stay. Why?
     
    This is Yassen’s tale. A trip down the darker direction of espionage.
     
    Like a James Bond for younger readers, overseas number one bestseller Anthony Horowitz promises a blockbuster thrill journey during this, his ultimate Alex Rider novel.

    Show description

  • Carson's Conspiracy (Sir John Appleby, Book 35)

    By Michael Innes

    Businessman Carl Carson comes to a decision to make a touch for South the US to flee the industrial stoop, leaving his domestic and his barmy spouse. yet he has an issue: if his corporation have been noticeable to be drawing in its horns, it wouldn't final every week. His answer is his wife's favourite delusion—an imaginary son, named Robin. Carson plans to level a fictitious kidnapping. finally, what might be extra ordinary than a father liquidating his resources to pay the ransom call for? regrettably, Carson has a slightly astute neighbor, Sir John Appleby, ex-Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police.

    Show description

  • Night Work (Kate Martinelli)

    By Laurie R. King

    Night Work

    Kate and her accomplice, Al Hawkin, are referred to as to a scene of conscientiously achieved homicide: the sufferer is a muscular guy, handcuffed and strangled, a stun gun's faint burn on his chest and sweet in his pocket. The likeliest individual to need him useless, his often-abused spouse, is meek and frail--and has an hermetic alibi. Kate and Al are stumped, until eventually a moment physique turns up--also zapped, cuffed, and strangled...and wearing a sweet bar. This sufferer: a convicted rapist. As newspaper headlines speculate approximately vendetta killings, a 3rd dying attracts Kate and Al right into a community of pitiless destruction that reaches a long way past San Francisco, a modern-style hit checklist with shudderingly primal roots.

    Show description

  • Child of Silence

    By Abigail Padgett

    Assigned to the case of a tender boy came upon deserted close to a neighborhood Indian reservation, baby abuse investigator Bo Bradley realizes that there are humans rationale on killing the boy lower than her cost.

    Show description

  • The Beige Man (An Irene Huss Investigation)

    By Helene Tursten

    A rushing BMW leaves a useless pedestrian in its wake and leads police to the corpse of a tender woman in a cellar. Detective Inspector Irene Huss's resulting research attracts her into the chilling international of intercourse trafficking.

    Göteborg, Sweden: The high-speed chase of a stolen BMW takes a chilling flip whilst the 2 law enforcement officials concerned witness a ugly hit-and-run. once they ultimately recuperate the deserted car, seek canines are not able to track the thieves, yet they do discover a completely varied horror: the half-naked corpse of a tender woman in a close-by root cellar.

    As Detective Inspector Irene Huss and her colleagues fight to place the items jointly, they detect the fellow whose vehicle used to be stolen—a retired police officer—is none except the sufferer within the hit-and-run. may well it's a wierd accident? Or is whatever greater at play? in the meantime, the search for the girl’s killer leads Irene into the darkish international of intercourse trafficking. a world felony has arrived in Göteborg, and he’ll cease at not anything to extend his sinister operation.

    Show description

  • Anchoress of Shere

    By Paul Moorcraft

    In 1329, a stunning Surrey lady is walled up alive within the village church of Shere. The Anchoress’ tale is taken up overdue during this century by means of deranged Catholic priest Father Michael Duval.
    Gradually, separate sagas spread: the realm of the center a while based on Christine’s entombment, and the 1967 abduction of a tender girl from Guildford.
    In a chain of unique twists, the medieval international of knights, debauchery, peasant uprisings and civil conflict merges right into a sleek hunt for a serial killer. The tragedy of the anchoress relies upon ancient evidence, but it's also an exploration of the main dramatic subject matters of at the present time: sexual freedom, and the facility of trust, religious bondage and the person look for self-fulfillment.
    Above all, it is a gripping event tale of a love so obsessive that it spans greater than six hundred years.

    Show description

  • Appleby's End (Inspector Appleby)

    By Michael Innes

    Appleby's finish was once the identify of the station the place Detective Inspector John Appleby bought off the educate from Scotland backyard. yet that was once no longer the single twist of fate. every little thing that occurred from then on comparable again to tales through Ranulph Raven, Victorian novelist - animals have been changed via marble effigies, somebody acquired a tombstone telling him while he may die, and a servant used to be came across buried as much as his neck in snow, lifeless. Why did Ranulph Raven's mysterious descendants make this sort of element of inviting Appleby to spend the evening at their house?

    Show description

  • The Dead Shall Not Rest (Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery)

    By Tessa Harris

    The bright anatomist Dr. Thomas Silkstone returns in Tessa Harris's shiny and compelling secret sequence set in 1780s London. . .

    It isn't just the residing who're prey to London's criminals and cutpurses. Corpses, too, are reasonable game--dug up from clean graves and offered to unscrupulous males of technological know-how. Dr. Thomas Silkstone abhors such equipment, yet his top rival, Dr. John Hunter, has discovered of the upcoming demise of eight-foot-tall Charles Byrne, referred to as the "Irish Giant," and may visit any lengths to acquire the physique for his examine.

    Thomas intends to work out that Byrne is authorized to leisure in peace. but his efforts are complex by means of situation for his betrothed, girl Lydia Farrell, who breaks off their engagement with out rationalization. whilst Dr. Hunter is implicated within the terrible homicide of a tender castrato, Thomas needs to ensure how a long way the more and more erratic medical professional will cross within the identify of information. For as Thomas understands too good, the blackest hearts occasionally pass undetected--and even an unblemished façade can cover terrifying secrets and techniques. . .

    Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice

    "Densely plotted. . . We await--indeed, demand--the sequel." --The manhattan instances publication Review

    "An soaking up debut. . . Harris has quite a lot of tips up her sleeve or even veteran armchair puzzle solvers usually are surprised." --Publishers Weekly

    "Smart misdirection and time-period acceptable scientific information make for a promising begin to a brand new sequence. a powerful selection for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." --Library Journal

    "CSI meets the Age of Reason with a well-drawn, exciting forged of characters, headed by means of the intense Dr. Thomas Silkstone. jam-packed with twists and turns, Tessa Harris's debut secret can confound the main adept reader. shiny info pulled me correct into the realm of early forensic sleuthing. A web page turner!" --Karen Harper

    "Intricate forensic information and a bunch of exciting characters force the tale. the writer can have you flipping the pages at every one unforeseen flip within the plot. . .an soaking up learn with a surprising twist on the end." --Historical Novel Reviews

    "Tessa Harris has added a deftly plotted debut. simply should you imagine the puzzle is solved, she finds another amazing twist which leaves you marveling at her ingenuity." --Carol Carr, writer of India Black and The Widow of Windsor

    A examining workforce GUIDE

    Discussion Questions

    1. What are the parallels among the strong physicians within the novel and the multinational drug businesses of today?

    2. How does Thomas advance as a personality during this, the second one publication within the sequence?

    3. Does the process the struggle of Independence have an effect on any attitudes towards Thomas during this book?

    4. Anatomists within the eighteenth century came across corpses so not easy to come back through that they have been compelled to show to grave robbers for a customary offer. these days, extra humans donate their our bodies to technology. might you?

    5. should still organ donation be made compulsory?

    6. Freak indicates have lengthy been thought of an affront to human dignity, yet in an age with little social welfare, what used to be the choice for the critically disabled?

    7. Charles Byrne and count number Boruwlaski either have significant disabilities yet are taken care of in very alternative ways. Why is that this so, and the way might they be taken care of today?

    8. How a ways do revelations approximately Lydia's earlier visit clarify her submissive character?

    9. used to be John Hunter a clinical visionary or an evil obsessive?

    10. Charles Byrne's skeleton continues to be on exhibit within the Hunterian Museum in London to at the present time. may still he take delivery of a formal burial?

    Show description

  • A Killing Coast (DI Andy Horton, Book 7)

    By Pauline Rowson

    Detective Inspector Horton returns and is feeling the heat...

    When a physique is located floating within the sea off Portsmouth harbour, Detective Inspector Horton judges it to be an unintentional demise, yet quickly discovers he's received it very unsuitable. stressed from his superiors, Horton wonders if his ongoing research into the disappearance of his mom over thirty years in the past has clouded his judgement. opposed to all of the odds, he needs to not in basic terms discover a brutal killer, but additionally end up to himself, and others, that he's nonetheless as much as the job.

    Show description

  • 1 2 3 26